Column resizing

Column resizing

buzbybbuzbyb Posts: 3Questions: 0Answers: 0
edited August 2010 in Plug-ins
First of all - cheers for DataTables - it is fantastic!

Anyway, I don't except for a minute this is a new forum topic but I am having real difficulties trying to get any column resizing plugin to work with DataTables - is anyone succesfully using a column resizing plugin with datatables 1.7 and jQuery 1.4.2, and if they are, what are they using?

Please bear in mind that I'm a jQuery newbie!

Cheers
Buzby

Replies

• pwc1011pwc1011 Posts: 62Questions: 0Answers: 0
    Hello Buzbyb,

Maybe I don't understand your question , but why are you using a column resizing plugin?

Datatables handles the column resizing automatically. Have you tried creating a table and giving column sizes as part of the column definition?

You will also want to take the time to look through the examples, as Allan has provided many great resource there.

Finally, if you're new to jQuery, datatables will be a bit more complex than many plugins, since it does quite a bit more than most. Don't be intimidated... just start simple, get a table working, then explore the more involved options.

Best of luck,
    Patrick
  • buzbybbuzbyb Posts: 3Questions: 0Answers: 0
    Sorry if I didn't make myself clear - I mean I want to allow the user to resize columns at runtime. I understand that DataTables doesn't have this functionality at the moment, and I'm having trouble finding a plugin that offers this feature but doesn't get upset when I try to combine it with DataTables... does that help?
  • buzbybbuzbyb Posts: 3Questions: 0Answers: 0
    Ok - I've got it working. I ended up using the jquery.kiketable.colsizable plugin from here: http://www.ita.es/jquery/jquery.kiketable.colsizable.htm