Server side processing hangs at "Loading data from server"

Server side processing hangs at "Loading data from server"

JamesFuJamesFu Posts: 2Questions: 0Answers: 0
edited October 2009 in General
I'm pretty new to JQuery and DataTables and any help is much appreciated.

I edited the Server Side Processing php file for my application and when I tried to load the page, table hangs at the "Loading data from server" stage. Interestingly, when I loaded the php file and copied the JSON response to a text file and made that the sAjaxSource, the table displayed correctly.

My first thought was that the php page might need to somehow indicate "end of file" but this wasn't in the example. Anyone facing this problem too?

Here's my php code:

[code]<?php
require_once('connect.php');
if (checkSession() != 0) {
echo "0";
} else if (dbConnect()) {

/* Paging */
$sLimit = "";
if ( isset( $_GET['iDisplayStart'] ) && $_GET['iDisplayLength'] != '-1' ) {
$sLimit = "LIMIT ".mysql_real_escape_string( $_GET['iDisplayStart'] ).", ".mysql_real_escape_string( $_GET['iDisplayLength'] );
}

/* Ordering */
$sOrder = "";
if ( isset( $_GET['iSortCol_0'] ) ) {
$sOrder = "ORDER BY ";
for ( $i=0 ; $i[/code]

Replies

• allanallan Posts: 61,697Questions: 1Answers: 10,102 Site admin
    Hi JamesFu,

I don't see anything immediately wrong with your PHP there, so what I would suggest is to get your JSON return from the server (using Firebug or whatever) and pass it through http://jsonlint.com to see what might be happening with it's parsing. I suspect that there will just be a little error in there - although I can't see where from the code!

Regards,
    Allan
  • JamesFuJamesFu Posts: 2Questions: 0Answers: 0
    Hey Allan,

Thanks for the suggestion. Jsonlint said the JSON return was valid. Also, like I mentioned earlier, I've tried to save the JSON return as a text file and using that as the sAjaxSource and it worked fine. Shall go through my codes with a fine tooth comb again, thanks!

James