Newbie- How to populate dataTable by sending json string...

Newbie- How to populate dataTable by sending json string...

rhaerhae Posts: 5Questions: 0Answers: 0
edited June 2012 in DataTables 1.8
I have a dataTable setup to start out showing empty. Then I have a separate ajax call that can be triggered by a button on the page to return json data that I want to then put in (or replace) the data in the table.
my ajax call is (which isn't working, error below..)
$.ajax({
type: "GET",
contentType: 'application/json; charset=utf-8',
url: "getJSONResult",
data: form,
dataType:"json",
success: function(data){

oTable.fnAddData(data);

},
error: function(xhr, desc, err) {
alert( xhr.responseText );
}
});

The error I am getting is 'Requested unknown parameter '0' from the data source for row 0'

Been searching the forum looking for ideas, but being a newbie I am stumped. I can get the data into the table when I use
"sAjaxSource": '/getJSONResult?'+ $('form').serialize(),
"bServerSide": true,
"sServerMethod": "post",
"aoColumns": [
{ "mDataProp": "customerName" },
{ "mDataProp": "address" },
{ "mDataProp": "city" },
{ "mDataProp": "state" },
{ "mDataProp": "zip" },
{ "mDataProp": "saleDate" },
{ "mDataProp": "entryDate" },
{ "mDataProp": "serialNumber" } ,
{ "mDataProp": "modelNumber" }
],

in the init, but then the paging doesn't work (shows all rows instead of just the set of 10 at a time), and it retrieves the data every time you click one of the paging buttons (database we are using doesn't allow for retrieve rows like 50-60 or 20-30 etc...). So we want to hand all the data over to the datatable and let it do its normal paging over the results without retrieving new data until they click the button again...
Any ideas would be VERY appreciated :)

Replies

• allanallan Posts: 61,665Questions: 1Answers: 10,096 Site admin
    Could you run your DataTable through the DataTables debugger please? My guess is that there is a column count mismatch somewhere.

Allan