ScrollX on IE 8, 9 and Firefox not working correctly when serverSideProcessing is set

ScrollX on IE 8, 9 and Firefox not working correctly when serverSideProcessing is set

siddhuwarriersiddhuwarrier Posts: 6Questions: 0Answers: 0
edited August 2012 in Bug reports
Hi,

I'm new to Datatables, and rather a Javascript noob. Therefore, apologies in advance if this isn't a bug but a result of my stupidity, and many thanks in advance for helping me sort this out.

*(I) Description of Problem*

DataTables version used: 1.9.3

I have a Datatables table that loads data from the server using Ajax requests and pipelining. I have a large number of columns, as a result of which I have scrollX set. This works fine on Google Chrome v21, but on Firefox v10.0 and v14.0, the horizontal scrollbar is not rendered for the table at all, and therefore, the vertical scrollbar ends up right at the end of the window, invisible to our users (please see screenshot uploaded to Amazon S3: http://bit.ly/TSTtTP).

My DataTables initialisation code is as follows:

[code]
display_table = $('#reportview-table').dataTable({
"bProcessing":true,
"bServerSide": true,
"sAjaxSource":"/reportviews/" + report_view_pk + "/rows/",
"fnServerData": fnDataTablesPipeline,
"sPaginationType": "bootstrap",
"oLanguage": {
"sInfoFiltered": ""
},
"bScrollCollapse":true,
"bSortClasses": false,
"sScrollY":getHeight() - 315 + "px", //getHeight() is cross-browser compatible; this is a bit nasty but works
"sScrollX":"100%",
"sDom":'<"toolbar">rtip',
"iDisplayLength":15,
"aoColumnDefs":[
{% for column in columns %}
(... DJANGO TEMPLATE STUFF ...)
{% endfor %}
],
"fnRowCallback": function () {...},
"fnInitComplete":function () {...}
});
[/code]

This problem arises given the following circumstances:

1. bServerSide is set to true ( and replaces it with another whereby the tbody is no longer aligned with thead or tfoot).
2. The table is accessed using Firefox or Internet Explorer.

*(II) Debugging Information*