Please un-deprecate fnRender

Please un-deprecate fnRender

jctsayjctsay Posts: 1Questions: 0Answers: 0
edited March 2013 in Feature requests
HI Allan,

First of all, great job on datatables! It works very well and looks great. I've been using it since 2009 (?) for a variety of projects.

After upgrading from 1.8.3 to 1.9.4 I discovered that fnRender is deprecated in column defs. This is a bummer for me since I was doing things like this:

$('table').dataTables({
aoColumns : [
{
mDataProp: 'summaryStatistics.rating',
bSortable : true,
fnRender : function (obj) {
var ss = obj.aData;
return ss.rating + ' | ' + ss.numUsers + ' users'
}
}
]
});

where the data looks like this

[
{ "summaryStatistics" : { "rating" : 3.0, "numUsers" : 400} },
{ "summaryStatistics" : { "rating" : 1.0, "numUsers" : 23} }
]

I tried to change fnRender to mRender, but discovered the function is called differently. mRender is called with the mData value, while in this case is the rating. But fnRender was called with the entire row's data, so I can look at multiple fields of the row. I could change mDataProp to just 'summaryStatistics', but then I would lose the sorting ability on the rating. If there is no workaround for this, I would suggest un-deprecating fnRender.

Thanks!

Jeff

Replies

• allanallan Posts: 61,446Questions: 1Answers: 10,054 Site admin
    > But fnRender was called with the entire row's data

So is mRender - the third parameter is the data source for the row :-). No need for a workaround, this feature is already built in.

fnRender has already been removed in git and good riddance to it! It was seriously holding back other advancements in DataTables when working with data source objects (requiring data to be cloned, thus breaking links so Backbone etc integration was out and is a large performance drag), it was confusing with bUseRendered and limiting.

mRender is a much better solution all around - promise!

Allan
  • roncemerroncemer Posts: 4Questions: 0Answers: 0