Using Editor with ASP.NET - Is it a good fit?

Using Editor with ASP.NET - Is it a good fit?

JeffLeeJeffLee Posts: 1Questions: 0Answers: 0
edited April 2013 in Editor
I have used DataTables in the past for searching/displaying large amounts of data from SQL Server databases, using server-side (AJAX) processing, and have been very happy with it. Now I have a requirement to add CRUD style functionality to allow users to maintain data in a few dozen SQL Server database tables.

I'd like to use DataTables for this, since I'm familiar with it. I just now briefly looked at the Editor, and can see that all of the server side code appears to be PHP.

My server-side code is (and will be) implemented as ASP.NET web services (written in C#) that talk to a SQL Server database.

Does it make sense to use (and purchase) the Editor given my requirements? Are there going to be (or do they already exist) C# versions of the PHP scripts that are included with the Editor?

I'm just getting started with trying to decide on a CRUD approach, and am hoping that someone has already tried this with ASP.NET and DataTables.

Thanks,

Jeff

Replies

• allanallan Posts: 61,436Questions: 1Answers: 10,049 Site admin
    Hi Jeff,

Thanks for your question. As you note, the Editor server-side libraries are currently PHP only. That's not to say that Editor will work with only PHP though - the client-server communication protocol is documented here: http://editor.datatables.net/server/ and will allow the client-side aspect of Editor to work with any server-side environment.

We currently do not have a C# implementation of the server-side scripts, but it is on the roadmap for the next release. We had to stat somewhere, so PHP was where it was, but C# will follow. That release is however, likely a few months off as all development effort is currently focused on the next major release of DataTables.