Export CSV XLS broken with Flash v13.0.0.206 ??

Export CSV XLS broken with Flash v13.0.0.206 ??

muratmurat Posts: 6Questions: 1Answers: 0
edited May 2014 in TableTools

Hello,

Since yesterday I noticed that the CSV export is not always working in IE which is using flash v13.0.0.206 (flash upgraded on 1st of may to this version)
If I remember correctly this was working fine a while ago in IE and Chrome.
It still works as expected in Chrome which on my local machine is using flash v11.7.700.203
Occurs with filtered as non filtered tables.

  • It is not a data problem (I think) because the symptoms does not seem to be consequent.

For example:
One particular row which is being exported fine in export1:
Line: "2014-03-24 09:29:01.940__24-03-2014 9:29:01";"1316242654_SPORBE21BBB_AB101";"AB101";"Bkldhndcbbblkdhbk";"ABCD_AB101";"24-03-2014 9:29:02";"";"";"";"";""

Export2 is a partial export abruptly ended on this same line:
"2014-03-24 09:29:01.940__24-03-2014 9:2

  • It is neither the size of the export:
  • exporting 13200 rows does work fine in table1 (resulting file size ~823kb)

  • Sometimes the export yields zero results (no header row either!)

  • The examples at http://datatables.net/extensions/tabletools/ do work fine.

I really suspect the flash version. Is there a debug log of the flash player on my system (Windows 7 64 bits)?

Versions: IE8 and IE11 on Windows 7 Pro 64bit

Murat Dönmez

Answers

  • muratmurat Posts: 6Questions: 1Answers: 0
    edited May 2014

    Flash Player debug output:

    TypeError: Error #1085: The element type "string" must be terminated by the matching end-tag "</string>".

    at flash.external::ExternalInterface$/_callIn()
    at Function/<anonymous>()
    at flash.external::ExternalInterface$/_evalJS()
    at flash.external::ExternalInterface$/call()
    at MethodInfo-4()
    
  • allanallan Posts: 54,703Questions: 1Answers: 8,556 Site admin

    Interesting. Could you possibly try reducing your table to, for example, 20 rows, and see if the export works 100% then? I'm wondering if there might be a problem with the 'chunking' that TableTools does to workaround with the Javascript / Flash bridge size limit.

    Allan

  • muratmurat Posts: 6Questions: 1Answers: 0

    Have tried a search wich returns only 38 rows. Export results in a 0 byte sized file. Have tried different table results between 38 and 13200 rows.
    Have you seen the flash debug message?

  • allanallan Posts: 54,703Questions: 1Answers: 8,556 Site admin

    I haven't seen it myself, but I haven't had time to try and reproduce this error yet. I don't quite understand why that error would be happening, but I will try to debug it in the next few days if I can.

    Allan

  • muratmurat Posts: 6Questions: 1Answers: 0
    edited June 2014
    Hi Allan,

    Did you got the chance debugging the SWF files?
    Where can I obtain the source code of the SWF's?

    Murat
  • allanallan Posts: 54,703Questions: 1Answers: 8,556 Site admin

    Sorry - not yet. I think I'd probably need a link to a test case showing the issue so I would be able to debug it actually.

    Source files for the SWF files are available in the git repo: https://github.com/DataTables/TableTools/tree/master/as3 .

    Allan

  • muratmurat Posts: 6Questions: 1Answers: 0

    Allan, which version of Flash Player do you have?

  • allanallan Posts: 54,703Questions: 1Answers: 8,556 Site admin

    14 at the moment. It appears to work as expected. Perhaps worth trying v14 or newer to see if they resolve an issue in the player?

    Allan

  • muratmurat Posts: 6Questions: 1Answers: 0

    FP 14.0.0.125 + Chrome = works
    FP 14.0.0.125 + IE8 = not working

This discussion has been closed.