Memory leak related to child rows?

Memory leak related to child rows?

scottkmitch1scottkmitch1 Posts: 9Questions: 3Answers: 0
edited May 2014 in DataTables 1.10

Lets take a simple test case http://jsfiddle.net/b6fKf/2 Click on any row and a child row should appear with a bunch of DOM elements. Click on that row again and the row will be "hidden" via the hide method. Then force a GC. You can repeat this process and should notice the JS memory is growing. Using google chrome's developer tools you can take a heap snap shot and look at the Detached DOM tree. I would like help from the DataTable experts to analyze this but there are a bunch of the DOM elements that were just created. I am seeing that dataTableSettings is frequently referenced in the retainers window, but I am not an expert in JS memory tools and management in general.

What is the correct way to remove/destruct child rows such that all memory is made eligible for GC? I have seen the hide method and tracked that this method resolves to the __details_display function which appears to do a jquery remove and then also calls __details_events. Without fully analyzing the code it seems like there is some clean up going on, but are there other cache mechanisms that also need to be cleaned?

I understand that you can get your self in trouble independently of DataTables if references exist to DOM elements (or events exist) that are in the child rows, but lets assume this is not the issue for the moment.

This question has an accepted answers - jump to answer

Answers

• allanallan Posts: 61,723Questions: 1Answers: 10,108 Site admin
    Answer ✓

DataTables, when it hides a child row, doesn't remove it from memory - rather it will keep the row in memory so the same child row can be shown again. The show / hide is just that, it is showing or hiding a row that has already been preset (although often you set it at the same time as showing it).