SQLite Views instead of Tables?

SQLite Views instead of Tables?

LalatoLalato Posts: 5Questions: 1Answers: 0

Anyone have success using SQLite Views instead of Tables?

I can get tables to work without issue, but when I try to do something with a view, the resulting datatable output is empty. It says it's returning records, but nothing appears on the page. I don't mind using tables, just wondering if anyone had resolved this kind of issue before.

Answers

• allanallan Posts: 61,438Questions: 1Answers: 10,049 Site admin

What is the JSON that your view code is returning? Assuming that valid JSON is being returned, DataTables does really care where the data comes from.

Allan

• LalatoLalato Posts: 5Questions: 1Answers: 0

Thanks for taking the time to help, Allan. I especially appreciate since I'm a novice.

I'm at my day job right now. I'll check how to do that (validate JSON) when I get a free moment today or maybe when I get home tonight.

If it helps, here's where I've been playing with datatables...

http://lalato.com/dl/dtables/leagues.php

OK. I had a chance to look at the JSON output when using the view. According JSONlit's valid. However, the values returned all NULL. Here's a small sample of the JSON...

{"sEcho":2,"iTotalRecords":"1586","iTime":0.0775589942932,"iTotalDisplayRecords":"1586","aaData":[[null,null,null,null,null,null],[null,null,null,null,null,null],[null,null,null,null,null,null],[null,null,null,null,null,null],

And it's nulls all the way down.

It's returning the correct number of rows (1586), but it doesn't have any data.

And it's nulls all the way down.

Nulls! I thought it was turtles all the way down! ;-)

I guess you are using PHP to get the data from a database? How are you doing that? That looks like where the problem is, not with DataTables.

Allan