DT Editor: How do I get the old,newly edited data along with the entire row in the data table?

DT Editor: How do I get the old,newly edited data along with the entire row in the data table?

sushmassushmas Posts: 22Questions: 5Answers: 2

Hi,

I am using datatable editor to let users modify certain columns in the table. I call a function within editor ajax which creates and runs a python task that will make changes to the backend database and print contents back to the data table. I am bit confused on how to use it properly as this is my first time.
Here is the snippet of my code -

editor = new $.fn.dataTable.Editor( {
table: "#cau_table",
fields: [ {
label: "Component",
name: "component"
},
{
label: "Version",
name: "version"
},
{
label: "License",
name: "license"
},
{
label: "Usage",
name: "usage"
}
],
ajax: function (method, url, data, success, error) {
testme(data.data.undefined) ==> this is giving me an object with data->data->undefined->version->new_data **
}
});
var cau_tab = $('#cau_table').DataTable({
'data': [],
'columns': [
{'data':'component'},
{'data':'version', editField: "version"},
{'data':'license'},
{'data':'usage[, ]', editField: "usage"}
],
'pagingType':'full_numbers'
});

cau_tab.on( 'click', 'tbody td', function (e) {
    editor.inline( this, {
                     buttons: { label: '>', fn: function () {
                            this.submit()}
                            }
                        });
    } );

** Here I also need to send the old data, basically other fields in that row of the modified one.

How do I get that data?
Thanks,
Sushma

This question has an accepted answers - jump to answer

Answers

• ThomDThomD Posts: 334Questions: 11Answers: 43
    Answer ✓

If you are using Editor 1.5, when you use Inline editing, only the field that you changed is included in the payload to the update mechanism.