HTML tags in the editor fields

HTML tags in the editor fields

M1408M1408 Posts: 28Questions: 8Answers: 1
edited April 2017 in Free community support

I am using datatables and the editor to display a specific table from the datatable. One of the fields is a textarea and the the entry includes html tags such as <p> <br> etc...
The row details pop up displays eveyrthing fine but the editor popup is treating the tags like text and actually showing the <p>, <br> to the user. How do I fix that?

This question has an accepted answers - jump to answer

Answers

• allanallan Posts: 61,438Questions: 1Answers: 10,052 Site admin

Sounds like you want to use a WYSIWYG editor. There are a number of them listed in the Editor field type plug-ins section.

Allan

• M1408M1408 Posts: 28Questions: 8Answers: 1

I have limited experience with WYSIWYG editor so I apologize if my follow up question is too basic. Wouldn't the WYSIWYG field still show the tags that are included in the database entry?
    The database has the html tags included in the entry that the textarea is displaying.

Answer ✓

The WYSIWYG Editor will render the HTML tags into the correct visual display. So for example <br> would show as a line break rather than as the tag.

Likewise, the editor would also automatically insert tags that are required - for example highlighting text and clicking the bold icon will cause it to add the <b> tags. The text will be shown as bold, but the user won't see the tags.

The example on the Quill home page is a a good example.

Allan

edited April 2017

Thanks, Allan.
    I was able to implement Quill after I used your workaround here: http://dn.datatables.net/forums/discussion/41422/unable-to-load-quill to get it to work

Two question though: the HTML Tags are still showing, and the toolbar is still showing even if I used toolbar: false

tableEditor.add(
    {
    label: 'Notes:',
    name: 'Notes',
    data: Notes_Order,
    type: 'quill',
    toolbar: 'false',
    });