Datatable Search on decimal

Datatable Search on decimal

sathiyapriyasathiyapriya Posts: 4Questions: 1Answers: 0

I'm new to jquery datatable. I'm having a datatable. binding the values from DB to datatable. In loop binding the value to datatable. I'm having an amount column. This i want to show with $ symbol and comma for thousand and period for decimal. This i achieved by the format
item.claimAmount.ToString("$#,##.#0")

I have search for the same datatable. when i search an amount let say i type 123 then all the amount starts with 123 filtered. If i type like 1234, its not filter out the amount. i need to put comma 123,4 then its filter out. How can i achieve this.

Answers

• allanallan Posts: 61,714Questions: 1Answers: 10,103 Site admin

I would suggest you use the number renderer that is built into DataTables for this.

Allan

• sathiyapriyasathiyapriya Posts: 4Questions: 1Answers: 0

Hi Allan,

If i implement the number renderer will search will work as expected. I want to search on amount user type 123 it should return the amount which matches 123.00 and 12,312.90 both. How can i achieve this. Currently i do search like below.

function regex_escape(text) {
    return text.replace(/,/g, "").replace(/\./gi, "").replace(/\s+/g, "");
    };

var query = regex_escape($(this).val());
     drejectTable.search(query, true, false).draw();

• mikeosoftmikeosoft Posts: 40Questions: 14Answers: 2

I don't know if it can help, but I came across this some time ago :

https://datatables.net/examples/advanced_init/html5-data-attributes.html

Looks like the data-search could do what you want.

Hi Mike

Thanks, i had checked the link. The example provided in the link, the search not working as expected. need to use comma in search textbox. let say in search box if i type 86, datatable shows the record that matches. if i type 865 it not showing any records. but datatable has value of 86,500. So i search if i type 86,5, shows that record.