Adding a button into a cell

Adding a button into a cell

danielkorzekwadanielkorzekwa Posts: 5Questions: 0Answers: 0
edited July 2011 in DataTables 1.8
Hi,

Imagine we create a two column table from array [[userName,userId],[userName,userId]....]
In the first column we display user name whereas in the second column we put a button with a click listener, e.g. call a function showDetails(userId). At the moment to provide a custom rendering for the second column I use

"fnRender" : function(obj) {
var userId= obj.aData[obj.iDataColumn]
return ''
}

and it works, however I wonder if there is a better was to specify custom rendering with onclick listener for a given cell. Ideally I'd like to have:
"fnRender" : function(obj) {
var userId= obj.aData[obj.iDataColumn]
$(document.createElement("button")).click(marketDetails(userId))
}

I will appreciate any help.

Regards.
Daniel Korzekwa

Replies

• fbasfbas Posts: 1,094Questions: 4Answers: 0
    I'm not an expert javascripter, but I prefer the simplicity of approach 1, especially since it already works.

If you go with path 2, you need to create the element, then add it to the right location, then bind the listener. more code to do the same thing already accomplished in approach 1.
  • danielkorzekwadanielkorzekwa Posts: 5Questions: 0Answers: 0
    Thanks fbas for you answer.

I'm not a java script expert either and I 'm skilled more in the server side development including some web apps adopting java web frameworks, which do all javascript for you. and maybe it's where my question is coming from.

The advantage of the second solution I opt for, would be:
    - You can pass an object function rather than raw javascript text, which may help you to create more object oriented components. e.g. function MyTableComponet(onClickListener). Having that fnRender returns just an html string, you need to know where the function you are going to call actually exists in a DOM object to be able to call it.