Installing node Demo files

Installing node Demo files

rldean1rldean1 Posts: 141Questions: 66Answers: 1

Hey guys I'm still a noob with node, and I'm having issues testing out the demo files:

1. I got the Demo DB setup in MSSQL successfully
  2. I downloaded & unzipped the Demo/Node files to a new folder: c:\NodeProject3
  3. Using a terminal, from c:\NodeProject3, I ran npm install, npm install express, and datatables.net-editor-server (not necessarily in that order)
  4. I configured the DB.js, trying both my own username/password, and also Windows Authentication with msnodesqlv8 (unable to confirm if either worked...)
  5. when I run npm start, I get the message indicated below

Any ideas on what I'm missing?

Error: listen EADDRINUSE 0.0.0.0:8081
    at Server.setupListenHandle [as _listen2] (net.js:1286:14)
    at listenInCluster (net.js:1334:12)
    at doListen (net.js:1460:7)
    at process._tickCallback (internal/process/next_tick.js:63:19)
    at Function.Module.runMain (internal/modules/cjs/loader.js:744:11)
    at startup (internal/bootstrap/node.js:285:19)
    at bootstrapNodeJSCore (internal/bootstrap/node.js:739:3)
npm ERR! code ELIFECYCLE
npm ERR! errno 1
npm ERR! datatables.net-editor-demo@1.9.2 start: `node index.js`
npm ERR! Exit status 1
npm ERR!
npm ERR! Failed at the datatables.net-editor-demo@1.9.2 start script.
npm ERR! This is probably not a problem with npm. There is likely additional logging output above.

npm ERR! A complete log of this run can be found in:
npm ERR!     C:\Users\<DON'T HACK ME>\AppData\Roaming\npm-cache\_logs\2020-01-10T16_49_28_933Z-debug.log

Answers

• rldean1rldean1 Posts: 141Questions: 66Answers: 1

OKAY ---- WAIT!!!!

So that error means that there something else on my machine that's listening on 8081. I have changed the demo files to listen on a different port, and that seems to have made a difference.