How to make search function point to the row without hiding other row?

How to make search function point to the row without hiding other row?

SHOSHO Posts: 7Questions: 1Answers: 0

Hi, I am new to datatables and now currently doing the search function.
Datatables's search will point to the search result and hide the other row.
How can I make the search point to the search result but still containing other line?

This question has accepted answers - jump to:

Answers

• kthorngrenkthorngren Posts: 20,142Questions: 26Answers: 4,736

Are you wanting to highlight the row containing the search term? If so, maybe the row().show() plugin will do what you want. Here is an example that also uses the Select Extension to highlight the row:
    http://live.datatables.net/hatojihe/3/edit

Click the Find Quinn button.

Kevin

• SHOSHO Posts: 7Questions: 1Answers: 0

Yes I want to highlight it but not using a button. But using the Search input and it should work same as your button "Find Quinn" works.

Please help me.

But using the Search input and it should work same as your button "Find Quinn" works.

There are a couple options:

1. Create your own input and use that to call the row().show() plugin. You can hide the default search input using the -option dom` option if you want.
    2. Remove the Datables event handler from the default Search input and create your own, like this example:
      http://live.datatables.net/jorexujo/1/edit

Kevin

Hi, kthorngren can you kindly show me? I failed to do the first options and options 2 the example you provide me seem to still hiding the other row.

Answer ✓

Here is an example that takes over the Datatables search input and uses row().show() along with the Select Extension to show the row:
    http://live.datatables.net/hatojihe/34/edit

Type in a person's name in the table to show the row.

options 2 the example you provide me seem to still hiding the other row.