table.add.rows() not updating the datatable from AJAX response from Python Flask

table.add.rows() not updating the datatable from AJAX response from Python Flask

TanviPTanviP Posts: 6Questions: 2Answers: 0

I'm trying to refresh the datatable with the response received after AJAX POST call. However it doesn't add the data to datatable but creates empty rows that are the exact same number as in the response of the AJAX call.

I'm new to this and referred to https://datatables.net/reference/api/rows.add() to build the table refresh part

My AJAX response is as follows (using json.dumps in Flask)-

[{"name": "XYZ", "branch": "main", "city": "Tokyo", "state": "P3", "country": "Japan", "pin": "110011", "landmark": "L1"},{"name": "XYZ", "branch": "main", "city": "Tokyo", "state": "P3", "country": "Japan", "pin": "110011", "landmark": "L2"},...{"name": "XYZ", "branch": "main", "city": "Tokyo", "state": "P3", "country": "Japan", "pin": "110011", "landmark": "L30"}]

My code snippets are -

Flask

c_data = []
    for c in myData:
        c_data.append({
            'name': c[0],
            'branch': c[1],
            'city': c[2],
            'state': c[3],
            'country': c[4],
            'pin': c[5],
            'landmark': c[6],
            })

return json.dumps(c_data)

jQuery

function makeRequest() {
var pageNum = table.hasOwnProperty('page') ? table.page.info().page : 1;
 if (pageNum > 0) {
        $.ajax({
        data: JSON.stringify({ "pageNum": pageNum }),
        dataType: "json",
        type: "POST",
        contentType: "application/json; charset=utf-8",
        url: "/my/url",
        success: function(data){
                console.log(jQuery.type(data));
                console.log(data);
                table.clear();
                table.rows.add(data);
                table.draw();
                }
        })

}

json.dumps(c_data) from Flask is received successfully in data part of success: function(data)