Master Detail Tables

Master Detail Tables

synaqvisynaqvi Posts: 11Questions: 4Answers: 0
edited August 2021 in DataTables 1.10

Hi

I am new to Datatables and trying to create two tables (i.e. Master and Detail). Detail table rows should be based on the ID in the Master table. I am following the tutorial https://datatables.net/blog/2016-03-25 and everything working fine while following the same from end to end. Please also note that I am not using DataTables but not DataEditor and hence, I skipped the DataEditor parts. I will be using the same approach down the road.

The issue is that my Master table is being populated on page load through PHP script without any issues. When I select any row in the Master table, I need to call a PHP script that runs a query to select all the records from Detail table based on the ID from Master table I passed and return the set of records.

Afterwards, I want to show all the returned records in the Detail table using AJAX.

Prompt support as well as a working example (if possible) would be highly appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

This question has an accepted answers - jump to answer

Answers

• kthorngrenkthorngren Posts: 20,139Questions: 26Answers: 4,735

Sorry but I'm confused. Have you implemented this and it doesn't work or are you asking about how to implement without the Editor portion?

There is a working example in the blog you linked to. Do you have questions about the example in the blog?

The best way for us to help is for you to provide a link to your page or a test case showing the issues you are having.
    https://datatables.net/manual/tech-notes/10#How-to-provide-a-test-case

Kevin

• synaqvisynaqvi Posts: 11Questions: 4Answers: 0
    edited August 2021

Thanks @kthorngren for your prompt response. Let me keep it simple and straight while excluding the extra information.

Let's say:

1. I have a DataTable called Master and another DataTable called Detail.