F# .Net Editor Examples

F# .Net Editor Examples

zamakzamak Posts: 10Questions: 1Answers: 0

I've been using DataTables for around 2 years now and it's been fantastic! We're currently switching from PHP over to F# and I know there is a .Net version written in C#, but I was wondering if there were any examples of it working with F#. They're fairly interoperable so I imagine it's basically a 1:1 translation, but having a reference for more complex scenarios is really nice.

Answers

• allanallan Posts: 61,438Questions: 1Answers: 10,052 Site admin

I'm sorry to say we don't have any examples. I've actually never written any F# myself (its on my todo list, along with Go and Rust), however, due to the Common Runtime Environment in .NET the DataTables.dll will still be useful in F#, I'm just not sure what the surrounding syntax will be I'm afraid.

If you do cook anything up, perhaps you could post it so others could see and benefit from it as well?

Thanks,
    Allan

• zamakzamak Posts: 10Questions: 1Answers: 0
    edited April 2022

It's been a bit of a slog. Not only am I using F#, I am running on .Net 6 -- so .net core -- and I am using an F#-specific framework called Falco. It was a lot of research to figure out how to wire everything up, but I did it. Although, I've encountered a problem I haven't been able to solve.

The program type-checks and compiles, however when I hit the route, it doesn't send any data back. It's just a completely empty response. Any ideas?

I should note that I know the request from the client is formatted correctly because I've just re-pointed the existing frontend from our PHP backend to the new F# backend.

Editor.fs

//Initializing the DBs
    let db1 = new Database("sqlserver", Orm.Connection1)
    let db2 = new Database("mysql", Orm.Connection2)

//Initializing the Editor
    let tireDataEditor ( request : HttpRequest ) = 
        Editor( db2, "tires.tireData", pkey="sku" )
            .Field(
                [