How to reinitialize a DataTable instance properly when after the DOM table is rebuilt?

How to reinitialize a DataTable instance properly when after the DOM table is rebuilt?

steinarksteinark Posts: 7Questions: 1Answers: 0
edited January 2012 in DataTables 1.8
I am new to DataTables and will first say I am very impressed with the flexibility, quality and documentation, great product!

I have a question which seems trivial, and where I think I see how to accomplish my task when reading the documentation, but it just does not work. The scenario is:

* an empty HTML table with proper thead and tbody is present in the HTML markup
* the DataTable comes into play as a result of a user clicking on some actions:
* the associated event handler triggers a chain of functions which does this, in this order:
* the existing tbody element is cleared with a call to .empty() on that element
* new rows are inserted in tbody by jQuery code in the client after processing some XML returned by Ajax calls
* a DataTable instance is associated with the table

All this works perfectly the first time, the table shows the inserted rows as it should. Each new click should then do the same as above and I would expect the table to be "cleaned" between each time. But it seems that DataTable caches the content separately from the associated DOM element (the table associated by the given id)? This is because after some click the table seems to come out of sync whereby new rows seems to be garbled by the old rows, and the number of rows displayed by the info text does not correspond to what is seen. A click on a column heading to re-sort, cleans up the inconsistency between the number of rows seen and the number of rows reported, but those seen now are the old rows that should have gone because of the .empty() call on the DOM element.