Best way to access a td value

Best way to access a td value

bgardnerbgardner Posts: 17Questions: 0Answers: 0
edited November 2009 in General
I'm new to DataTables, but I like what I see so far. I am having a problem with one table that I have created with it. When the user selects a row in the table, I'm using Ajax to open up some details for the given row. I do two things when they click a row, I highlight that row with a little CSS, and then get an Id from that row, and post an Ajax call to populate some additional information elsewhere on the page.

The problem I have is that this only works on the first page of output from the table. If I paginate to a later page, I get neither color not posting. Here is my (rather poor) code for this event. Can someone tell me if there is a reason this should only work on the first page of output? I am open to any other comments as well.

[code]
$("#request-table tbody tr").click(function(event) {
$(oTable.fnSettings().aoData).each(function (){
$(this.nTr).css('background-color','#FFFFFF');
});

$(event.target).parent().css('background-color','#CC99B3');

var aPos = oTable.fnGetPosition( this );
var aData = oTable.fnGetData( aPos );
var requestId = aData[0];

$.post("listDetails.action",
{ acsrRequestId: requestId } ,
function(ltext, lstatus){
$('#info-panel').html(ltext);
}
);
});
[/code]

Replies

• izzy6150izzy6150 Posts: 49Questions: 0Answers: 0
    Hi bgardner,

The reason this is not working when paging is that the table is being redrawn and thus loosing your click method which is currently only attached to your initial data.

you could try something like the following which might work:
    [code]
    $(document).ready(function() {
    $('#example').dataTable( {
    "fnRowCallback": function( nRow, aData, iDisplayIndex ) {
    /* Add your click event to the row */
    nRow.click = function() {
    $(this).css('background-color','#FFFFFF');
    $(this).parent().css('background-color','#CC99B3');