Advanced search filters

Advanced search filters

ikac.ikaxikac.ikax Posts: 6Questions: 0Answers: 0
edited November 2009 in General
Hey guys!

I have been reading dozens of posts on this forum and yet didn't find answer to my prob. There are couple of similar, but since I'm new to datatables, I don't know if those can help me.

The problem is that I want, by the built-in search, to have some form with advanced search text boxes.
Now, I looked at this post (http://datatables.net/examples/server_side/custom_vars.html) , but I want to push those additional values if user clicks at button of advanced form, and then reload the table. Since I'm new, maybe sending blank values of advanced search by the common values of datatables is good enough?

Thanks,
Ikac

Replies

• allanallan Posts: 61,822Questions: 1Answers: 10,127 Site admin
    Hi Ikac,

I'm presuming that you are using server-side processing with DataTables here? With server-side processing the filtering is entirely under your control, with the server-side script (SQL statements). DataTables will pass you the user's search string as sSearch, which you can then use to perform the filter (one method for doing this is shown in my examples for the server-side script). Has you have noted you can send more information using custom variables to the server-side, which can then be combined into the SQL statement to make a complex search.

So I think basically it comes down to the fact that you need to put the search information into the Ajax call, and then deal with it appropriately on the server-side.

Does this answer your question?

Regards,
    Allan
  • ikac.ikaxikac.ikax Posts: 6Questions: 0Answers: 0
    Yes, I'm using server-side processing, I forgot to mention.

Well I'm starting to get the whole picture of this.

Thanks a lot Allan!
    Ikac
    Hey again :)!

The thing that I tried yesterday is working, but I'm having a new problem.