Hi All! I am new to datatables. I am using this to display results from ajax call.

Hi All! I am new to datatables. I am using this to display results from ajax call.

amritleenamritleen Posts: 14Questions: 2Answers: 0
edited April 2018 in Free community support

On a single page, I have user form and the result section. User fills the details and submit. On this, datatable is displayed. This works perfectly fine. But when user updates anything on the form and submits it, I am trying to destroy datatable and recreate it. Doing this, i am getting the error - clientWidth of undefined. Below is the code -

function CBResults(response){
    var dataArray = response.data;

if ($.fn.DataTable.isDataTable("#thetable")) {
        $('#thetable').dataTable();
        $('#thetable').DataTable().clear().destroy();

}
    var html = '<tbody>';
    for(var i = 0; i < dataArray.length; i++)
        html += '<tr><td></td></tr>';  // code to populate columns of the table

html += '</tbody>';

$('#thetable thead').first().after(html);

$('#thetable').DataTable( {
            retrieve: true,          
            dom: 'Blfrtip',
            scrollY: "300px",
            responsive: true,
            scrollX:        true,
            scrollCollapse: true,
            columnDefs: [ {
                targets: [4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11],
                render: $.fn.dataTable.render.ellipsis(10)
            } ], 
            buttons: [
                'colvis','copy', 'csv', 'excel', 'pdf'  
            ],
            fixedColumns:   {
                leftColumns: 2
            },

"lengthMenu": [[10, 25, 50, -1], [10, 25, 50, "All"]]
        } );
}

Let me know what I am doing wrong and how can I correct it? Appreciate quick reply on this.

Answers

• colincolin Posts: 15,112Questions: 1Answers: 2,583

Hi @amritleen ,

I suspect it's due to the retrieve, since you're calling that after resizing the table. I would try it without that, and see if that makes a difference.

Cheers,

Colin