New to DataTables - Using in Flask Python App - Table Loads and then Flashes White

New to DataTables - Using in Flask Python App - Table Loads and then Flashes White

futuremanhankfuturemanhank Posts: 6Questions: 1Answers: 0

Hey guys,

I am new to DataTables and just implemented it in my Flask app yesterday. For some reason, for a split second the table loads and is visible, but then all the rows of the table become white as well as the text inside the table.

I've tried a few different Tables from DataTables, but all appear to do the same thing and I am not sure why.

That is a picture of my table above. Does anyone have any idea as to what may be causing this?
Thanks!

Answers

• colincolin Posts: 15,142Questions: 1Answers: 2,586

It could be a CSS clash perhaps. We're happy to take a look, but as per the forum rules, please link to a test case - a test case that replicates the issue will ensure you'll get a quick and accurate response. Information on how to create a test case (if you aren't able to link to the page you are working on) is available here.

Cheers,

Colin

• futuremanhankfuturemanhank Posts: 6Questions: 1Answers: 0
    edited March 2022

Hi Colin! I have tried to quickly create a test case below!

https://codepen.io/FutureManHank/pen/XWzwObQ

It is not a full replication but part of the table is not being displayed properly and showing what I am seeing in my own site. In this test its only appearing in the headers/footers but imagine the root cause is the same.

• allanallan Posts: 61,669Questions: 1Answers: 10,096 Site admin

In your CSS you have:

thead th {
      background-color: white;
    }

That's why the table headers are white. Likewise the footer.

If you right click on the table header and select "Inspect" the browser's inspector will show you where they styles are coming from.

Allan

edited March 2022