Using Search Feature

Using Search Feature

hurrellshurrells Posts: 15Questions: 0Answers: 0
edited June 2011 in General
Hello.

I am a jQuery newbie and have just come across datatables. Looks excellent and I hope to use it to upgrade my waybill tracking program. I am asking or looking for examples, documentation that might help me evaluate datatables. I just want to confirm that I can do what I want below eventually.

Basically:
- I would have a web-page with the zero configuration example on it and set an initial oSearch parameter so that no data is visible so that customers can't see another customers data. It should not get any data until the search box is filled and enter pressed.
- The user would then enter a waybill# into the search box which would search for that specific number in the waybill column, only when enter is pressed, and return 0 rows message or the 1 row if found.

I think my is a continuation of (Thread ID 624) about how to setup the initial oSearch.
My basic question is how do I limit the search execution until I press enter? (Thread ID 259?)

Happy to donate back the code as an example when done.

Thanks, Steve

Replies

• allanallan Posts: 61,446Questions: 1Answers: 10,054 Site admin
    I would suggest using fnFilter ( http://datatables.net/api#fnFilter ) to build your own filtering control rather than the default filtering control. Just put a text box on the page and attach a suitable event handler to it. Or you can unbind the default one on the default control if you prefer.

Allan
  • hurrellshurrells Posts: 15Questions: 0Answers: 0
    edited June 2011
    Hello Allan.

Thanks for you response. Here is where I am:
    http://www.open-sourced.com/test/test1.html

I am now stuck on the fnfilter statement. When I add the column parameter, or change it from null to value 0 for 1st table column, in the fnfilter statement my search no longer provides any results and appears to just lock up.