Performance with 267 columns 117 rows

Performance with 267 columns 117 rows

jan_goyvaertsjan_goyvaerts Posts: 31Questions: 0Answers: 0
edited April 2014 in DataTables 1.9
I'm currently investigating a browser-freezing problem when using a large number of columns. I'm having a bit of trouble where to look because I'm rather new to browser/JS profiling.

However, I *think* what's happening is that the browser chokes on reflow. Because many of the bottlenecks are single statements - they are getting or setting sizes. Which I presume cause a storm of recomputations for something as complex as a table with so much columns. Maybe there's also a possible influence from the Scroller add-on (release 1.2.0) ?

For a smaller number of columns there seems to be no problem.

Is this a problem already familiar to somebody in here ?

Or any hint what alternatives I can try ? Preferably by maintaining that many columns. :-)

Thanks !

Jan

Replies

• allanallan Posts: 61,451Questions: 1Answers: 10,055 Site admin
    Can you link to the page please so we can take a look. If you remove the computations and just put in dummy data, does that help?

Allan
  • jan_goyvaertsjan_goyvaerts Posts: 31Questions: 0Answers: 0
    Unfortunately I am not at liberty to make it public. But I'll try to make something in Fiddle as a proof of concept.

It would really be convenient if Scroller would also work horizontally. Because that's where the problem lies: too much markup.
    I've prepared an example on JSFiddle: http://jsfiddle.net/DuA8v/4/

First press "Add Big table" and then "Fill table". Wait for a few seconds to see the table appear. The spent time is displayed too. The "render" time is basically the duration of the DT call. The "build" time is the time spent to create the whole thing - apart from calling DT.