Large Tables Unresponsive

Large Tables Unresponsive

SpringsTeaSpringsTea Posts: 11Questions: 1Answers: 0

I'm a student intern right now, so a lot of the related posts on this issue are confusing me, so I thought I would just ask for a simplified version.

I'm dealing with rows with 100+ columns, but theres not a lot of data right now, the table is still in the KB's.
I changed the "iDisplayLength" to 10, but it's still loading everything in one page, which I assume is part of the problem.
The browser becomes completely unresponsive and crashes AFTER the data loads onto the page.

I used this page: http://www.datatables.net/examples/data_sources/server_side.html
practically verbatim.

$(document).ready(function(){ $('#myTable').dataTable({ "iDisplayLength": 10, "processing": true, "serverSide": true, "ajax": "ajax.php", "sServerMethod":"POST" }); });

Answers

• RpiechuraRpiechura Posts: 98Questions: 3Answers: 14

Are you saying that it is creating a table that shows 100 entries or that it is loading the data of 100 entries each time you create the table? If you're getting the data for 100 entries, than you'd likely be seeing 100 entries being drawn on the table as well. The point of server side processing is to delay getting the information until you need it, so if you only want 10 records to display, you should only be returning 10 records from the server.

• SpringsTeaSpringsTea Posts: 11Questions: 1Answers: 0

"Are you saying that it is creating a table that shows 100 entries or that it is loading the data of 100 entries each time you create the table?"

Both?

Im throwing the table a JSON string of the whole table,since it's not entirely massive.
    Thats what the example I used seemed to do, and it's pages work fine.