Adding row attributes after fnAddData?

Adding row attributes after fnAddData?

ZerxerZerxer Posts: 13Questions: 0Answers: 0
edited June 2010 in General
Is there any easy way to add attributes to a row newly added with fnAddData? I'd like each row to have a unique ID. Originally, I've just been adding the row HTML myself manually into the DOM. But this obviously doesn't get added to DataTables then which makes that row disappear from the page once you sort/change pages/filter.

So is there any way to add an ID to my new rows with or after fnAddData? Or a way to make DataTables pick up a new row added with jQuery's basic .append()?

Thanks.

Replies

• RazputinRazputin Posts: 4Questions: 0Answers: 0
    I'm fairly new to dataTables so take my advice with a grain of salt... What I did was add a row with oTable.fnAddData and in my data I have a column marked as "bVisible":false which I use as an Id and then i find the row with
    [code]
    function getRowData(p_id)
    {
    var settings = oTable.fnSettings();
    for (var i=0; i
  • allanallan Posts: 61,446Questions: 1Answers: 10,054 Site admin
    edited June 2010
    Hi guys,

fnAddData returns an array of indexes which point to the data storage point in the aoData object where DataTables stores the row which has just been added.

So for example:

[code]
    /* assume we have an array of data called 'a' that we want to add to a table 'oTable' */
    var ai = oTable.fnAddData( a );
    var n = oTable.fnSettings().aoData[ ai[0] ].nTr;
    /* n is now the TR that you added - so it can be modified */
    [/code]
    Not the most gorgeous code in the world - but does the trick :-). I plan to write a plug-in API function in the near future which will take an existing TR node (perhaps one which you have constructed using DOM methods) and be able to add that. This would retain the ID etc - but until then - this extra line will give you the node you added :-)

Regards,
    Allan