Update row after cell edit

Update row after cell edit

tiebreaktechtiebreaktech Posts: 20Questions: 3Answers: 1
edited December 2015 in Editor

After i cast editor.bubble(this) and i edit a cell i'd like to reload the whole row, not the entire table, using the
date coming from the server. How can i do that?

This question has accepted answers - jump to:

Answers

  • allanallan Posts: 61,744Questions: 1Answers: 10,111 Site admin

    Just the edited row being reloaded is what should happen - as you will be able to see in this example.

    If that isn't working for you, could you give me a link to the page showing the issue so it can be debugged please.

    Allan

  • tiebreaktechtiebreaktech Posts: 20Questions: 3Answers: 1
    edited December 2015

    that could be complex, but let me show the declaretions

    ///DATATABLE
    
    function load_table() {
    
      if(serie == "A") 
        var columns = columnsA;
      else
        var columns = columnsB;
    
      $('#edit').DataTable({
        drawCallback: tab_change,
        paging: true,
        pageLength: 10,
        ajax: "/api/role/get/"+serie+"/"+stagione,
        dom:  'Tfrtip',
        columns: columns,
        tableTools: {
            sRowSelect: "single",
            aButtons: [
                { sExtends: 'editor_edit',   editor: editor }
            ]
        }
      });    
    }
    
    //EDITOR
    
    function create_editor() {
      if(serie == "A")
        var fields = fieldsA;
      else
        var fields = fieldsB;
    
      editor = new $.fn.dataTable.Editor( {
        table: "#edit",
        ajax: "/api/role/set",
        fields: fields
      });
    
      $('#edit').on( 'click', 'tbody td:nth-child(29),:nth-child(30),:nth-child(31),:nth-child(33),:nth-child(34),'
        +':nth-child(35),:nth-child(36),:nth-child(37),:nth-child(38),:nth-child(39),:nth-child(40),:nth-child(41),:nth-child(42),'
        +':nth-child(43),:nth-child(44),:nth-child(45),:nth-child(46)', 
        function (e) {
          editor.bubble( this );
      });
    
      $('#edit').on( 'page.dt', function () {
        window[shown]();
      });
    }
    

    after every post it is updated only the single cell that i modify

    Edited by Allan - Syntax highlighting. Details on how to highlight code using markdown can be found in this guide.

  • allanallan Posts: 61,744Questions: 1Answers: 10,111 Site admin

    after every post it is updated only the single cell that i modify

    Bubble editing will submit only the changed value. Is that the problem that you are having here? You can use:

    editor.bubble( this, {
      submit: 'allIfChanged'
    } );
    

    if you want to submit all fields. See the form-options documentation (specifically the submit section).

    Allan

  • tiebreaktechtiebreaktech Posts: 20Questions: 3Answers: 1

    the fields of the row are already sent together. my problem is that only the single cell that i edited with bubble() is updated after the post. instead i want the whole row to be updated with the json sent by the server as reply..

  • allanallan Posts: 61,744Questions: 1Answers: 10,111 Site admin

    Are you able to give me a link to the page so I can take a look and try to understand the issue please? I'm not clear if the problem is with the parameters being sent to the server (which would be resolved per my suggestion above), or if the issue is with the JSON being returned from the server (in which case it is an issue with the server-side script and we would need to know what that script contains).

    Allan

  • tiebreaktechtiebreaktech Posts: 20Questions: 3Answers: 1

    Sorry, It requires log in. The response from the server is the same that i use to populate the table in the first place, just one row instead of n rows.

    something like:

    { "data" : [ { "field" : value, "field2" : value2 } ] }

  • tiebreaktechtiebreaktech Posts: 20Questions: 3Answers: 1
    edited December 2015 Answer ✓

    NOT solved

    editor.on( 'submitSuccess', function (e, json, data) {
    datatable.row('.selected').data( json.data[0] );
    });

  • allanallan Posts: 61,744Questions: 1Answers: 10,111 Site admin

    Hi,

    Thanks for the updates. Great to hear you've got it working now.

    Allan

  • tiebreaktechtiebreaktech Posts: 20Questions: 3Answers: 1

    false alarm :-(

    it works only the first time on the same line. the second i got this:

    TypeError: b[0].aoData[this[0]] is undefined
    ...this.length?b[0].aoData[this[0]]._aData:k;b[0].aoData[this[0]]._aData=a;ca(b[0]

  • tiebreaktechtiebreaktech Posts: 20Questions: 3Answers: 1

    any idea???

  • allanallan Posts: 61,744Questions: 1Answers: 10,111 Site admin

    I'm afraid I'm still not actually clear on what the issue is, as per my last reply. Is the issue with the data submitted, or the data returned?

    I'm afraid that without a test case I'm really just guessing.

    You stated:

    my problem is that only the single cell that i edited with bubble() is updated after the post. instead i want the whole row to be updated with the json sent by the server as reply..

    My problem is that I don't quite understand the issue. By default Editor will submit only the altered parameter, but the PHP and .NET libraries will return the whole row. So I don't know what would cause this issue.

    Allan

  • tiebreaktechtiebreaktech Posts: 20Questions: 3Answers: 1
    edited December 2015

    In a row of n cells i alter one of them but i want to reload the entire row because the other values are related with the one that i modify.

    i think i found a solution but the system crashes. i call

    editor.on( 'submitSuccess', function (e, json, data) {
    datatable.row('.selected').data(json.data[0]).draw();
    });

    the first edit goes well but the second cause a crash with error:

    TypeError: b[0].aoData[this[0]] is undefined ...this.length?b[0].aoData[this[0]]._aData:k;b[0].aoData[this[0]]._aData=a;ca(b[0]

    The strange thing is that, if i edit a different row after every edit, no problems occur at all. it appens if i try to edit the same row again.

  • allanallan Posts: 61,744Questions: 1Answers: 10,111 Site admin

    In a row of n cells i alter one of them but i want to reload the entire row because the other values are related with the one that i modify.

    That is exactly what should happen, and is what happens in the demos.

    There should be no need to add any additional code.

    We need to find out why that is not working for you.

    What is the response to the Ajax request after the bubble edit is submitted?

    Allan

  • tiebreaktechtiebreaktech Posts: 20Questions: 3Answers: 1
    edited December 2015

    a json with the same format that i use to create the table in the first place, only ine row instead of all of them

    { "data": [ {"field" : value, "field2" : value2 ,.... ,.... ] }

  • allanallan Posts: 61,744Questions: 1Answers: 10,111 Site admin

    Does that data include the row id? If you have a look at the example I linked to and click the "Ajax data" tab below the table, then edit a cell, you'll see the data that is sent to and received from the server.

    As I say, that should be all that is needed to have the row update.

    If that isn't working, I'm afraid I really would need to be able to see a page that is demonstrating that issue in order to be able to debug and help resolve it.

    Regards,
    Allan

  • tiebreaktechtiebreaktech Posts: 20Questions: 3Answers: 1
    edited December 2015

    maybe i found something. in the example the post is like

    action = edit
    data[row_43][first_name] = Brunoooo

    instead in my post there isn't the first index but it is generated like

    action = edit
    data[field] = value
    data[field2] = value2

    could it be the reason?
    Also can you tell me if DT_RowId must be in a particular format?
    Could be a problem if the row id is a string like 16494-A-2015 ?

  • allanallan Posts: 61,744Questions: 1Answers: 10,111 Site admin
    Answer ✓

    could it be the reason?

    Very possibly. The data format you have there looks like the 1.4 legacy format. Do you have the legacyAjax option set or are you using a version before 1.5? The 1.5 libraries won't work with the legacy format.

    Also can you tell me if DT_RowId must be in a particular format?

    No - it can be anything you want and long as it can be used to uniquely identify the row in the database. In my examples I use row_{primaryKey} simply to make it an easy to use DOM id, but you could use other values if you need.

    Allan

  • tiebreaktechtiebreaktech Posts: 20Questions: 3Answers: 1
    edited December 2015

    done. the row update problem was a version problem then.
    with editor up to date it updates the entire row.

  • allanallan Posts: 61,744Questions: 1Answers: 10,111 Site admin

    Great to hear. Thanks for posting back.

    Allan

This discussion has been closed.