Ancient Egyptian Sorting Order

Ancient Egyptian Sorting Order

egyptdbegyptdb Posts: 3Questions: 1Answers: 0

Hi everybody,

I'm very new to web development/javascript, and I'm having trouble developing a script to sort a column by the ancient Egyptian alphabet rather than English (even after using https://www.datatables.net/plug-ins/sorting/ as a reference).

My question is, in the examples where users are using an array/dictionary to specify a new alphabet, what is happening? The ordering of the Egpytian alphabet (as encoded by a certain standard) is AjtawbpmnrhHxXzsSKkgtTdD -- capitals matter because they are used to represent different characters (for example A represents ꜣ). I tried to specify this ordering by adjusting the existing Czech alphabet plugin-- but I'm too ignorant of what is actually happening here to understand why it isn't working. Can anybody provide a little advice? Even just in the form of where to look so I can begin to recognize what's happening here?
Included below is my adjustment of the Czech alphabet plugin.

/@egyptstring js/

$.extend( $.fn.dataTableExt.oSort, {
"egypt-pre": function ( a ) {
var special_letters = {
"A": "A", "j": "j", "y": "y", "a": "a",
"w": "w", "b": "b", "p": "p", "m": "m",
"n": "n", "r": "r", "h": "h", "H": "H",
"x": "x", "X": "X", "z": "z", "s": "s", "S": "S", "K": "K",
"k": "k", "g": "g", "t": "t", "T": "T",
"d": "d", "D": "D"
};
for (var val in special_letters)
a = a.split(val).join(special_letters[val]);
return a;
},

"egypt-asc": function ( a, b ) {
    return ((a < b) ? -1 : ((a > b) ? 1 : 0));
},

"egypt-desc": function ( a, b ) {
    return ((a < b) ? 1 : ((a > b) ? -1 : 0));
}

} );

Answers

• Loren MaxwellLoren Maxwell Posts: 387Questions: 94Answers: 10
    edited September 2019

I don't have a direct answer to your question about what's happening during sorting, but maybe using an enumeration would be a better way forward.

Here's an example: https://datatables.net/blog/2016-06-16