Sorting columns, server side processing

Sorting columns, server side processing

BFlokstraBFlokstra Posts: 2Questions: 1Answers: 0

I'm really new to DataTables. I implemented it in a test project (to see how useful the plugin would be to me). Here is the problem I'm faced with:

I have 6 columns. All are text columns except for one, which should be a date column. My SQL query sorts the data by date (ASC). When I add the data to the table, it's all sorted alphabetically, on the first column. I added " data-order='[[ 3, "asc" ]]'" to my code, but this seems to handle the column as text instead of date's, making the sorting:
01-08-2021,
02-09-2021,
08-08-2021,
etc

What I want is this:
01-08-2021,
08-08-2021,
02-09-2021

I read somewhere that, if server side processing is used, the data is handled as it comes in? Yet, the array I loop through is sortered by date (I checked to see if the problem was there), but the resulting table is not.

As I said, I'm complely new to this plugin. Any and all help would be greatly appreciated.

Here is my JS code:

$('#evenementenTable').DataTable({
      language: {
           processing:     "Verwerken...",
            search:         "Zoeken:",
            lengthMenu:    "Toon _MENU_ items",
            info:           "Toon  _START_ tot _END_ van _TOTAL_ items",
            infoEmpty:      "Toon 0 tot 0 van 0 items",
            infoFiltered:   "(Gefilterd uit totaal _MAX_ items)",
            infoPostFix:    "",
            loadingRecords: "Records laden...",
            zeroRecords:    "Geen items om weer te geven",
            emptyTable:     "Geen data in de tabel",
            paginate: {
                first:      "Eerste",
                previous:   "Vorige",
                next:       "Volgende",
                last:       "Laatste"
            },
            aria: {
                sortAscending:  ": Oplopend sorteren",
                sortDescending: ": Aflopend sorteren"
            }
        }
    });